People sections


People

Letter from the Chair

Faculty

Last Name:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All

Faculty Group:

NameTitleAreas of SpecializationGroupEmail Address
Ali, TariqAsst. ProfessorModern South Asia, Agrarian Histories, Histories of CapitalismFull-Time Facultytoali@illinois.eduAliProfile
Anderson, JamesProfessorEducational Policy StudiesAffiliated Facultyjanders@illinois.eduAndersonProfile
Arnstein, WalterProfessor EmeritusGreat Britain; 19th & 20th centuries; socioeconomic, intellectual, politicalEmeritiwarnstei@illinois.eduArnsteinProfile
Asaka, IkukoAssistant ProfessorAfrican American Diaspora and Transnational History; Race, Intimacy, and Empire; Gender and Sexuality; U.S. in the World to 1877Full-Time Facultyiasaka@illinois.eduAsakaProfile
Avrutin, EugeneAssociate ProfessorModern European Jewish HistoryFull-Time Facultyeavrutin@illinois.eduAvrutinProfile
Barnes, TeresaAssociate ProfessorWomen, gender and feminist histories in Zimbabwe and South Africa Full-Time Facultytbarnes2@illinois.eduBarnesProfile
Barrett, JamesProfessor20th century US; social & labor history, the radical tradition in the US, race and ethnicity Full-Time Facultyjrbarret@illinois.eduBarrettProfile
Brennan, JamesAssociate ProfessorUrbanization, Political Thought, and Media in East Africa, History of Decolonization, History of the Indian OceanFull-Time Facultyjbrennan@illinois.eduBrennanProfile
Bucheli, MarceloAssociate ProfessorLatin America, Business History, Economic History, Political Economy of Foreign Direct Investment Full-Time Facultymbucheli@illinois.eduBucheliProfile
Bunzl, MattiProfessorAnthropologyAffiliated Facultybunzl@illinois.eduBunzlProfile
Burgos, AdrianProfessorU.S. Latino history, Sport History, Urban History, Immigration Full-Time Facultyburgosjr@illinois.eduBurgosProfile
Burkhardt, RichardProfessor EmeritusHistory of Science; History of Biology (esp. evolutionary theory), interrelations between science and societyEmeritiburkhard@illinois.eduBurkhardtProfile
Burton, OrvilleProfessor EmeritusHistory of the SouthEmeritiovburton@illinois.eduBurtonProfile
Burton , Antoinette ProfessorBritain and the Empire, history of Women and Gender, and World history Full-Time Facultyaburton@illinois.eduBurton Profile
Canales, JimenaProfessorHistory of ScienceFull-Time Facultyjcanales@illinois.eduCanalesProfile
Cha-Jua, SundiataAssociate ProfessorHistories of African American Resistance and Community Building; Radical Black Intellectual Traditions; Culturally Relevant Pedagogies Full-Time Facultyschajua@illinois.eduCha-JuaProfile
Chaplin, TamaraAssociate ProfessorContemporary France, cultural and intellectual history of Modern Europe, the histories of gender and sexuality, feminist and critical theory, queer studies, human rights and the media in a global context. Full-Time Facultytchaplin@illinois.eduChaplinProfile
Chow, Kai-WingProfessorIntellectual and cultural history of Ming-Ch'ing China Full-Time Facultykchow1@illinois.eduChowProfile
Crowston, ClareAssociate ProfessorFrance, labor history, history of women and gender Full-Time Facultycrowston@illinois.eduCrowstonProfile
Cuno, KennethAssociate ProfessorSocial, economic, and legal history of modern Middle East Full-Time Facultykmcuno@illinois.eduCunoProfile
Dávila, JerryProfessorJorge Paulo Lemann Professor, History of Latin America, Brazil, African Diaspora, race and ethnicityFull-Time Facultyjdavila@illinois.eduDávilaProfile
DeLisle, ChristineAsst ProfessorAmerican Indian Studies and Gender and Women's StudiesAffiliated Facultycdelisle@illinois.eduDeLisleProfile
Diaz, VicenteAssociate ProfessorAmerican Indian Studies and Anthropology Affiliated Facultyvmdiaz@illinois.eduDiazProfile
Espiritu, AugustoAssociate ProfessorAsian American Intellectuals, Transnationalism, post-Colonialism, Race and Gender, 1898 and American Empire Full-Time Facultyaespirit@illinois.eduEspirituProfile
Fisher, RalphProfessor EmeritusModern Russia; political and social historyEmeritir-fisher@illinois.eduFisherProfile
Fritzsche , Peter ProfessorGermany, European, Cultural History Full-Time Facultypfritzsc@illinois.eduFritzsche Profile
Fu, PoshekProfessorModern China & Hong Kong; Popular Culture, Cinema Studies Full-Time Facultyposhekfu@illinois.eduFuProfile
Ghamari-Tabrizi, BehroozAssociate ProfessorGlobal History Full-Time Facultybghamari@illinois.eduGhamari-TabriziProfile
Harris, DianneProfessorLandscape ArchitectureAffiliated Facultyharris3@illinois.eduHarrisProfile
Hertzman, MarcAssistant ProfessorLatin America; Brazil; Race; Culture; African Diaspora; Gender; LaborFull-Time Facultyhertzman@illinois.eduHertzmanProfile
Hibbard, CarolineProfessor EmeritaTudor-Stuart court culture, international relations Emeritihibbardc@illinois.eduHibbardProfile
Hitchins, KeithProfessorNationalism, Habsburg monarchy in the 18th & 19th centuries, Romanian and Hungarian history, Central Asia Full-Time Facultykhitchin@illinois.eduHitchinsProfile
Hoddeson, LillianProfessor Emerita20th century US science and technology, industrial research, particle physics, solid-state physics, big science, nuclear weapons Emeritihoddeson@illinois.eduHoddesonProfile
Hoganson, KristinProfessorUnited States in world context, cultures of U.S. imperialism, globalization Full-Time Facultyhoganson@illinois.eduHogansonProfile
Hogarth, RanaAssistant ProfessorScience, Technology and Medicine; Race and Ethnicity; Colonial North America and Early US to 1830Full-Time Facultyrhogarth@illinois.eduHogarthProfile
Hoxie, FrederickProfessorSwanlund Professor, American social and political history; race and ethnicity, Native American history , U.S., American Indian, U.S. PoliticsFull-Time Facultyhoxie@illinois.eduHoxieProfile
Hustak, CarlaLecturer/Visiting FacultyU.S. HistoryLecturers and Visiting Professorscchustak@illinois.eduHustakProfile
Jacobsen , Nils Associate ProfessorPeru, 1770-1930 Full-Time Facultynjacobse@illinois.eduJacobsen Profile
Jaher, FredericProfessor EmeritusUnited States; social and intellectualEmeritijaher@illinois.eduJaherProfile
Koenker, DianeProfessor, Chair20th Century Russia and USSR, comparative labor and social history Full-Time Facultydkoenker@illinois.eduKoenkerProfile
Koslofsky, CraigProfessorEarly Modern Europe Full-Time Facultykoslof@illinois.eduKoslofskyProfile
Leff, MarkProfessor EmeritusPost-1900 public policy and social movements, war and society, and civil liberties Emeritimleff@illinois.eduLeffProfile
Levine, BruceProfessorThe Civil War era; 19th century U.S. social, economic, cultural, and political Full-Time Facultyblevine3@illinois.eduLevineProfile
Liebersohn, HarryProfessorEuropean intellectual history, especially Germany Full-Time Facultyhliebers@illinois.eduLiebersohnProfile
Loughran, TrishAssociate ProfessorEnglishAffiliated Facultyloughran@illinois.eduLoughranProfile
Love, JosephProfessor EmeritusLatin America; economic and social history, history of ideas, BrazilEmeritij-love2@illinois.eduLoveProfile
Loza, MireyaAssistant ProfessorComparative Labor/Working Class; Global Histories; Race and Ethnicity; United States since 1830; Women and Gender.Full-Time Facultymloza@illinois.eduLozaProfile
Lynn , John Professor EmeritusMilitary history; Military and political institutions of France, 1610-1815; War and culture; Women in warfare; History of terrorismEmeritijohnlynn@illinois.eduLynn Profile
Mathisen, RalphProfessorLate Antiquity, Roman History, Roman Law, Ancient Numismatics, Prosopography, Computer applications Full-Time Facultyralphwm@illinois.eduMathisenProfile
McColley, RobertProfessor EmeritusUnited States; early national, colonial, Illinois history, high cultureEmeritirmccolle@illinois.eduMcColleyProfile
McDuffie, ErikAssociate ProfessorAfrican American StudiesFull-Time Facultyemcduffi@illinois.eduMcDuffieProfile
McKay, JohnProfessor EmeritusModern Europe including Russia; economic and social historyEmeritijpmckay@illinois.eduMcKayProfile
McLaughlin, MeganProfessor EmeritusCentral middle ages; social and religious history; history of women and gender Emeritimegmclau@illinois.eduMcLaughlinProfile
Melhado, EvanEmeritiPhysical sciences in 18th and 19th century Europe, European and American medicine from the 17th century Full-Time Facultymelhado@illinois.eduMelhadoProfile
Micale, MarkProfessorEuropean intellectual history; the history of medicine, especially psychiatry; gender and masculinity studies; modern FranceFull-Time Facultymsmicale@illinois.eduMicaleProfile
Mitchell, RichardProfessor EmeritusAncient; Roman Republic, numismaticsEmeritirmitchll@illinois.eduMitchellProfile
Morrissey, RobertAssistant ProfessorU. S ColonialFull-Time Facultyrmorriss@illinois.eduMorrisseyProfile
Mumford, KevinProfessor, Director of Graduate StudiesCultural and Intellectual; African American and UrbanFull-Time Facultykmumford@illinois.eduMumfordProfile
Myers, MichaelACAD ADVRAffiliated Facultymdmyers@illinois.eduMyersProfile
Nobili, MauroAsst ProfessorFull-Time Facultynobili@illinois.eduNobiliProfile
Oberdeck, KathrynAssociate ProfessorU.S. 19th and 20th century intellectual and cultural history Full-Time Facultykjo@illinois.eduOberdeckProfile
Pleck, ElizabethProfessor Emerita20th century U.S. women's history, history of women and gender Emeritiepleck@illinois.eduPleckProfile
Price, DavidProfessorReligionAffiliated Facultydhprice@illinois.eduPriceProfile
Prochaska, DavidProfessor EmeritusCultural, France, North Africa, comparative colonialism Emeritidprochas@illinois.eduProchaskaProfile
Pruett, JohnProfessor EmeritusUnited States; American colonial, trans-Atlantic connections, Anglican clergyEmeritij-pruett@illinois.eduPruettProfile
Rabin, DanaAssociate ProfessorEarly modern Britain, legal, cultural, and gender history Full-Time Facultydrabin@illinois.eduRabinProfile
Randolph, JohnAssociate Professor, Director of Undergraduate StudiesRussia, Europe since 1789, Cultural and Intellectual History Full-Time Facultyjwr@illinois.eduRandolphProfile
Reagan, LeslieProfessorU.S. medicine and public health, history of women and gender Full-Time Facultylreagan@illinois.eduReaganProfile
Ross, RichardProfessorU.S. and early modern English legal history and U.S. colonial history Affiliated Facultyrjross@illinois.eduRossProfile
Rota, EmanuelAssociate ProfessorModern Italy, History of IdeasAffiliated Facultyrota@illinois.eduRotaProfile
Sakiestewa Gilbert, MatthewAssociate Professor Native American history, American Indian Studies, history of Indian education, history of the American West, American Indians and sports Full-Time Facultytewa@illinois.eduSakiestewa GilbertProfile
Schneider, DorotheeLecturer/Visiting FacultyUnited States; 19th century immigrant and labor historyLecturers and Visiting Professorsschndr@illinois.eduSchneiderProfile
Schroeder, PaulProfessor EmeritusModern Europe; European international politics, Hapsburg Monarchy, central Europe, theory of historyEmeritipschroed@illinois.eduSchroederProfile
Seidelman, RhonaLecturer/Visiting FacultyHistory of Israel; History of Medicine and Public Health; ImmigrationLecturers and Visiting Professorsrds@illinois.eduSeidelmanProfile
Solberg, WintonProfessor EmeritusUnited States; American intellectual and cultural history, science and religion in American culture, the history of the University of IllinoisEmeritiwsolberg@illinois.eduSolbergProfile
Spence, ClarkProfessor EmeritusTrans-Mississippi West, History of Mining, History of AgricultureEmeritic-spence@illinois.eduSpenceProfile
Spence, MaryProfessor EmeritaHistory of American Women, Indian-White RelationsEmeritim-spence@illinois.eduSpenceProfile
Steinberg, MarkProfessorLate imperial and revolutionary Russia, popular culture, urban history, religion Full-Time Facultysteinb@illinois.eduSteinbergProfile
Stewart, CharlesProfessor EmeritusAfrica; 19th century West Africa, Islam in the 18th through 20th centuries, African historiographyEmeriticcs@illinois.eduStewartProfile
Symes, CarolAssociate ProfessorMedieval Europe, especially France and England; cultural history; history of information media and communication technologies; history of theatre Full-Time Facultysymes@illinois.eduSymesProfile
Toby, RonaldProfessor EmeritusEarly Modern JapanEmeritirptoby@illinois.eduTobyProfile
Todorova, MariaProfessorEastern and Southeastern Europe, and History of nationalism. Full-Time Facultymtodorov@illinois.eduTodorovaProfile
Warrior, RobertProfessorAmerican Indian StudiesAffiliated Facultyrwarrior@illinois.eduWarriorProfile
Widenor, WilliamProfessor EmeritusUnited States; American approach to foreign policy, intellectual history of American foreign policy, American planning for international organizationEmeritiwwidenor@illinois.eduWidenorProfile
Wilson, RoderickAsst Professor19th & 20th century Japan; Environmental History; Science and Technology History; Urban HistoryFull-Time Facultyriwilson@illinois.eduWilsonProfile